Review | Sun Kisses, Moon Hugs by Susan Schaefer Bernardo

Sun Kisses, Moon Hugs

Title: Sun Kisses, Moon Hugs
Author: Susan Schaefer Bernardo
Illustrator: Courtenay Fletcher

Genre: Children’s Fiction
Publisher: Inner Flower Child Books

Publishing date: 1st May, 2017
Pages: 32

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 

*e-copy received from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


Synopsis:

Sun Kisses, Moon Hugs is a beautiful new book with a simple but powerful message: love last forever.

Lyrical writing and delightful illustrations provide perfect bedtime reading for any child. The book is also ideal for supporting children through grief, separation anxiety, divorce, illness or other traumatic situations, by wrapping them in a warm and comforting emotional security blanket and opening a dialogue on the nature of love.

Even when loved ones cannot be with us, we can feel their presence through our deep connections to the natural world.


My Take:

Screenshot_2017-06-24-16-57-52-1

Screenshot_2017-06-24-16-57-58-1

All that I want to say about the book is already said in the summary. I loved the lyrical writing in this and the illustrations were very colorful and detailed.

 

 

The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because of the ARC copy I received. I usually am very thankful for the ARCs I receive and ignore few grammatical errors because it’s an uncorrected copy but sending out a book which is difficult to read is obviously going to alter the reading experience and will affect the review.

Screenshot_2017-06-24-16-57-03-1

This was the case with most of the book.

I don’t know if all the ARCs sent out were like this or it was just my copy’s problem but it was surely irritating enough for me to reduce the rating. If not for the format issue, it would have easily been a 4 or even 4.5.

I was so disappointed by my copy that I couldn’t enjoy the wonderful writing.

That being said it is a beautiful little lyrical tale about how distance doesn’t mean that you don’t love someone and there are ways to remind people of how much we love them even when they are far from us.

Screenshot_2017-06-24-16-57-41-1


Why would I pick it up?

Image result for kid reading animation gif

For the beautiful writing and the illustrations. ❤

2 thoughts on “Review | Sun Kisses, Moon Hugs by Susan Schaefer Bernardo

  1. I am the author – thank you for taking time to read and review the book. I am so sorry you had a difficult time reading the ARC digital copy. A few readers have had difficulty opening it on their devices.
    I would be happy to send you a PDF or mail a paperback copy so you can see it the way it is meant to look (I promise, it’s beautiful!). xo Susan Bernardo

    Like

Leave a Reply

