ARC Review | I Wish My Teacher Knew by Kyle Schwartz

I Wish My Teacher Knew: How One Question Can Change Everything for Our Kids

 

Title: I wish my teacher knew
Author: Kyle Schwartz
Genre: Non Fiction
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong

Publishing date: 5th September, 2016
Pages: 272

My Rating: 3/5 stars

 

*e-copy received from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


Synopsis:

One day, third-grade teacher Kyle Schwartz asked her students to fill-in-the-blank in this sentence: “I wish my teacher
knew _____.” The results astounded her. Some answers were humorous, others were heartbreaking-all were profoundly moving and enlightening. The results opened her eyes to the need for educators to understand the unique realities their students face in order to create an open, safe and supportive place in the classroom. When Schwartz shared her experience online, #IWishMyTeacherKnew became an immediate worldwide viral phenomenon. Schwartz’s book tells the story of #IWishMyTeacherKnew, including many students’ emotional and insightful responses, and ultimately provides an invaluable guide for teachers, parents, and communities.


My Take:

Screenshot_2017-06-12-11-09-39-1

The teachers who actually believe this are godsend to children. I’ve had the privilege of such teachers who not only do their jobs of teaching the subject well but also are your guardians and are in sync with what’s up with your life. ❤ Massive respect for such teachers!

This book should be a must read for teachers. This activity “I wish my teacher knew…” should be carried out in every school. I don’t think I need to explain how much a teacher can influence a child.

I am all up for the message in the book. The only problems I had is with the editing of the book.

  • The notes scanned are in this light grayish tint which does not bode well with the white background of my kindle, I can see it a bit if I turn the background black but then again I don’t like reading it that way and it hurts my eyes.
  • Another one of the issue was seeing the same set of notes repeated before every chapter. As you can see (or may be not) from the images of the notes with different backgrounds, they are at 7% and 39% and have the same sets of notes.
Screenshot_2017-06-12-11-11-18

Not properly visible (White Background)

Screenshot_2017-06-12-11-28-56

A little better (Black Background)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • It has blank scanned pages that I am not sure is the issue of my device or something. Sometimes it accompanies a note or is all by itself but it is in many places to be ignored or else I would have.

Screenshot_2017-06-12-11-12-03-1 (1)

  • In few places the font was grey, which can be excused but then again that wasn’t a difficult thing to check before the ARCs were sent out.

Now, I do agree that ARCs aren’t perfect. But sending out ARCs with such bad formatting is a big NO-NO. Reviewers are people who get the word out about books. We can excuse a few grammatical errors but if there are too many glitches, that are going to deter our reading experience, then it becomes difficult to do justice to a good book while reviewing, because reading a book is about the experience for me and if that goes bad then it bothers me.

Apart from these issues I really liked the book. Editing issues like these do alter the reading experience. This could’ve been more enjoyable.

The message of the book about the teachers being there for students comes across pretty well. The book is written in a very understanding manner as for is expected from a teacher and I think that this book can be of great help to teachers wanting to be there for their students and also for students to know that they can share things with their teachers and go to them for advice. Creating a sense of community in the class is a sound advice because children spend most of their time at school after their home.

Image result for teacher reading gif animated

It is highly researched which will help you understand the importance of the teacher- student bond better. It is very informative and urges the teachers to do all that they can for the students and the case studies shows the benefits of such efforts.


Why Would I pick it up?

Image result for teacher reading gif animated

To learn all about the teacher-student bond and how it can be helpful.

Leave a Reply

