Review | Within a Captain’s Hold by Lisa A. Olech

Within a Captain's Hold (Captains of the Scarlet Night, #1)

 

Title: Within a Captain’s Hold
Author: Lisa A. Olech
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Lyrical Press

Publishing date: 24th November, 2015
My Rating: 4/5 stars

 

 

*ARC received from the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


Summary:

Captain Jaxon Steele is a tall, sun-bronzed, fierce-fighting Pirate King. He and the notorious crew of the Scarlet Night are both feared and respected for their ruthless reputation. The Captain’s only love is the open sea and the ship he calls home. When it comes to women, he has three rules: never sleep with another’s wife, don’t take virgins into bed, and most importantly, never bring a woman aboard—that brings the worst luck of all.

Annalise Gatherone has to leave London—tonight! Usually her only concern is the color of her latest gown, but now she’s choosing between life and death. Desperate to escape the clutches of an evil Duke, she stows away aboard the Scarlet Night, hoping she’s bound for Port St. Maria. Winning Captain Steele’s affections, she just might sneak by unharmed. But when her plans are altered in ways she never imagined, she must batten down the hatches for a journey into unknown waters…


My Take:

I loved this book! ❤ ❤

At first I was reluctant if I was going to like this book. I read this book during my reading slump and this book got me out of my reading slump. 😀

What did I like, you ask? I liked the plot, the characters, the writing style, the twists and turns, the vibe of the book in general. This is one of those books that you can go through in one sitting because you wouldn’t want to put the book down. So, my advice is to pick this book up when you are on a holiday and have a couple of hours on a stretch to read or you are not going to want to put this book down to do your boring chores. Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-50-23-1-1

I am not big of a fan of historical books. This is more of a modern historical romance. Everything in this book was in perfect balance. 😀

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-50-33-1The female lead, Annalise was naive but not in the annoyingly naive manner. She learned her way quick and her character was a realistic portrayal of a woman in her situation. The author did not overdo it even a bit where she comes onboard as an idiot and becomes the wisest, no, Anna adapted to things well enough and her survival instincts were at par.

 

The moment Jaxon, the male lead, and the pirate/ captain found her, the beginning scene, his introduction into the story gave me the vibe that I was going to like the book. There are some books that pull in as soon as you open the book, this is one of those. I appreciate this book more because of how real this fiction felt. The danger, the feeling, the emotions the characters showed, everything touched me. ❤

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-50-47-1

 

The villain… what a great villian! The evil duke, a well written character I must say. He is a sadist who enjoys torturing women and their struggles, their screams, their blood seems to stir emotions in him.

 

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-50-57-1

 

Jaxon and Anna’s interactions are amusing at its best! 😀 I laughed so hard at some scenes. Anna’s innocence and her will to survive at all costs, Jaxon’s pirate self going all soft on her was really interesting to read.

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-07-1

It was kind of easy for Anna to accept that she was in love with Jaxon but Jaxon went through a lot of emotional and mental dilemma over what he should do with his feelings about Anna. Him getting a hold of himself was really funny at times.

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-16-1

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-25-1

 

The secondary characters were all so well-written and likable. I loved Cookie! ❤ He is a loyal and true friend to Jaxon and the comic-character in the story. He is good natured and smart. Jaxon is lucky to have a friend like Cookie, I tell you, and Anna is lucky that Cookie stood by them through it all.

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-33-1

Sarah is Cookie’s beloved and a very wonderful character. She has this motherly vibe going for her and she has this mystic touch to her where she can see things of the future. 😀 😀 Not to forget Robbins, poor Robbins. He is a good kid who idolizes his captain, stands for him on realising that the captain is hiding a girl on the ship.

In the start of the book when the story was focused on Annalise and Jaxon, I wanted to read more about Alice. How she survived after being caught, what was she doing. Alice is a very strong character who is not explored much in this story but I had this little nagging thought of Alice throughout the book, I wanted to read more about her.

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-41-1

The last paragraph of the book gave me peace at last and hinted on there being more about Alice in other books. When I was reading this book I didn’t pay attention to this book being a part of a series but Yay! I am so excited to read the next book! 😀 😀

Screenshot_2017-04-02-15-51-50-1

I usually don’t read the sample chapters for the next book in a series but for the first time I did and that made me so giddy and I wanted to read the next book but didn’t have it… arghhh….


Why would I pick it up?

Related image

Go and check out My Take. Do I need say more?

 

One thought on “Review | Within a Captain’s Hold by Lisa A. Olech

  1. Wow! Thanks so much for all your positive words. I’m so happy you liked Within A Captain’s Hold. I hope you’ll enjoy following some of your favorite characters as they each become the Captain of the Scarlet Night!! The fifth and final book in the series (Within a Captain’s Soul) releases August 1st. I’m glad it was my book that got you out of your reading slump.

    Like

Leave a Reply

