ARC Review | Being Lovers by Rachel Carrington

Being Lovers

 

Title: Being Lovers (Discovering Emily, Book 2)
Author: Rachel Carrington
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Publishing date: 18th December, 2015
Published by: Rachel Carrington

My Rating: 4/5 stars  

 

 

*ebook received from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review*


Synopsis:

Escaping my past has become a full-time job for me. Ever since my boyfriend died, I’ve been running from something—his father, a hired hitman, the truth. If I didn’t have Adam, I don’t think I would have survived. He’s become my lifeline.

It only took us weeks to fall in love. Yes, it was quick, but love doesn’t tell time. At first, it might have been two desperate people coming together, but now, I know it’s real. I wish I could say we’ve lived happily ever after since. But there’s a price on my head.

Protecting me from a sniper has become Adam’s sole purpose in life, and I hate that our relationship is surrounded by guns, blood, death, and lies. Add betrayal to the mix, and I begin to wonder if what we’ve found, this unique bond we share, will last.

One thing is certain. Someone is trying to kill me, and losing Adam will do just that.


My Take:

I talked about how much I loved the format of summary and I am glad that it is continued. I complained about insta-love in the last book, that is the first book of the series, Connecting strangers. In this book summary there seems to be a kind of explanation in the words of Emily herself.

It only took us weeks to fall in love. Yes, it was quick, but love doesn’t tell time. At first, it might have been two desperate people coming together, but now, I know it’s real.

Okay, but still not acceptable. Anyways this book is much better than the last book. In this book we get a lot more action, well, the action in the last book was more in the bedroom but here we get real action. Finally Adam gets to put his cop skills to use. I was much impressed by Adam in this book.

In this book their romance doesn’t overshadow all the other aspects of the story like in the first book. I feel like all the complains that I had about book one was solved in this book. The author has really gotten the potential of the book out. Even if you haven’t read the first book, this will still be easy to read. I think it does better as a standalone because then you don’t have the first book to compare to.

Even if you don’t read the first book, you won’t be missing much because the second book does a good job for both of the books.

The ending will keep you perched on the edge of your seat, the climax is going to give you an adrenaline rush. The supporting characters’ stories is also explored in this book and they are not just the convenient, god send creatures that they were shown as in the first book.


Why would I pick it up?

Image result for reading gif

To make up for the disappointing first book in the series.

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review | Being Lovers by Rachel Carrington

Leave a Reply

