Review | The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore

The Night Before Christmas: The Classic Account of the Visit from St. Nicholas

 

Title: The Night Before Christmas
Author: Clement C. Moore
Genre: Classic, Children’s Fiction
Publishing date: 16th December, 2014 (first published 1823)
Published by: Simon & Schuster
Pages: 9

My Rating: 3/5 stars  

 


Synopsis:

Once upon a time, children imagined St. Nicholas as a stern, skinny bishop who was as likely to dole out discipline as Christmas presents. But thanks to the anonymous publication of the poem “Account of a Visit from St. Nicholas” in the TROY SENTINAL in 1823, a plumper, merrier St. Nick was born, transformed into the sleigh-riding, chimney-diving, jolly old elf we now call Santa Claus.


My Take:

I remember reading this last Christmas and I only got around talking about it one year later.

This is a classic Christmas read. I am so glad that I read this. There isn’t much for me to say that’s going to be any different from what a lot of people have said.

Image result for CHRISTMAS READ gif

I didn’t read an illustrated version but there are lots and lots of illustrated versions available by various illustrations.

This is one of the books that can be read as a tradition every Christmas. I really enjoyed reading this.


Why would I pick it up?

Image result for CHRISTMAS READ gif

As I said, “can be read as a tradition every Christmas.”

Leave a Reply

