Review | Jacob the Jew vs. the Chinese blood by J.W.Durrah

Jacob the Jew vs. the Chinese Blood: Book One

 

Title: Jacob the Jew vs. the Chinese Blood
Author: J.W.Durrah
Series: Yes (Book one)

Genre: Crime, Thriller
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Publishing date: 11th Aug, 2015
Pages: 457

My Rating: 4/5 stars

 

*Copy received from the author in exchange for an honest review*


Synopsis:

When NYPD detective Jacob Jennings signs on for a three-year tour with the US Army’s Military Intelligence unit, he expects to be deployed to Vietnam like his father before him. Instead, Jennings finds himself working a complex undercover sting in cooperation with the Chinese police.

The drug, cherry berry is the hot new topic on the streets of Hong Kong, and while dealers and gang members insist the drug is real, no one seems to have seen it and it is not for sale there. All that’s known is it’s powerfully addictive, made in Hong Kong, and it causes horrifying physical side effects to certain users.

Infiltrating the Chinese Blood gang and posing as an American hustler, Jacob draws closer to the drug’s suspected creator, the high-ranking medical research scientist Dr. Wo Ling Cheung. Cheung’s association with Jerry Baofung, a much-feared sorcerer, is unclear to others but not to Jennings.

Having been raised by his grandmother teaching him the occult, Jacob is unwilling to dismiss Baofung’s power as superstitious fakery. Sorcery, Jacob believes is the obvious contribution Baofung would make to the creation of cherry berry.

Tracking this drug to its source, Jacob realizes he’s running out of time because Cheung plans to unleash it on the streets of New York where he is already catering the drug to a dangerous clientele with unusual tastes and compulsions.


My Take:

I will first start with the way the book felt… I don’t know why but I have always liked holding big books. It makes me feel like a grown up lady, de-stressing herself after a day of work. The page layout feels so good to me, though the font size is small and was affecting my poor eyes but I think if it was any bigger then the book would have been more bigger meaning I would’ve been intimidated by it’s size.

This is currently a busy time for me so I was anyways intimidated by it’s 457 pages stature. I kept it aside to read it for holidays. I’ve preparatory leave now, which apparently is for studying for my semester exams but, oh well! 😛 😛

The first line of the book was an interesting start.

Jacob Jenning’s grandparents, Elizabeth Bonaveau and Paul Jennings, were opposites.

At first I thought that might be their personality but then I felt that might be their race and I wasn’t wrong. The very next line stated what opposites stood for.

Paul was born in North Carolina on a farm in a poor black area. Elizabeth Bonveau was born in an exclusively white area in Slautir, Louisiana.

After some weeks, finding his evenings free, Paul enrolled in Elizabeth’s class to earn his high school diploma, thinking to perhaps improve his station in life. His kind, farm-boy nature was so beguiling in its innocence to Elizabeth that she fell in love with him almost immediately.

The words chose to make sentences are well thought. The story flowed effortlessly. The reading was easy and fast. I didn’t have to drag myself through it. It has been some time since I received this book so when I picked it up and read the title I doubted that I would like this book, then I read the summary and remembered why I agreed to review this book. I will tell you the reason in a bit. 😛

As an infant, Jacob Jennings was ill tempered, but his tantrums never upset his grandparents, Paul or Elizabeth, especially Elizabeth who realized that such temperament was a natural part of a child born with Jacob’s probable gifts. As years passed, Jacob replaced his tantrums with phases of “distancing himself” to show his displeasure with someone or something. But he soon proved himself to be a precocious but solitary child.

There’s just a passing mention of magic like it’s secondary to all the action happening, in the summary, but when you read the book, magic is a huge part of the book. The magic bits were very interesting to read about.

“I do understand, Grandma. I think that maybe I love magic so much that I am just sometimes too eager to continue learning.”

Jacob has to team up with Asian police authorities and students of sorcerer Yongli Baofung who are known as “Children of the Dark.” Jacob navigates their world with powers of his own. He grew up learning the art of Dark Magic which is what is there for him against the occult evil forces.

The element of love, ahh… now the story’s complete! 😛

There was no doubt that, albeit his first time, he was on the old well-traveled rote of love and he could hope was that…
… he was not walking it alone.

All in all, I liked the book. Here are some sneak-peak snippets. To be honest, there would have been a lot more but I totally forgot to mark passages because I was so into the story.

“Jake with Secrets not only one who got secrets.” She crossed her legs, lit a cigarette and blew the smoke directly into his face. “You know?” Again she blew more smoke in his face. “We can hide our secrets like American butterflies do.” She tried to blow more smoke at him, instead she choked on the next mouthful. Ginger was not a real smoker and he knew she only did it occasionally in order to appear sophisticated and even then she only knew how to puff the cigarette and blow out the smoke.

Why the summary appealed to me was because the book was all suspense and mystery in the summary regarding a new drug that ironically has a seemingly harmless name, Cherry Berry; involvement of black magic in the mix? Well, it did work out well! 😉

Jacob was stunned. He picked up the packet and examined it.
“This is the cherry berry everyone is looking for?” He said it before he realized but now the terrible mistake was the elephant in the room.
Dr. Cheung grew a very broad smile and intertwined his fingers.
“Oh? I was not aware that anyone was seeking this product. And you say that everyone wants the cherry berry? How interesting.”
“Well, the word on the street is that the name is an enigma, something that people talk about but no one has any real knowledge of. It’s more like a legend, I imagine, than anything else.”

Why do authors always end good stories with cliffhangers? This surely has an interesting end. I couldn’t stop myself from sharing it but to still keep you guys interested I won’t write the name of whoever dies. 😛 😛

…*****’* ashes had burnt into flames… and something was rising from them.


Why would I pick it up?

Image result for dark magic reading

When you pick this book up, you are in for a ride. You’ll get more than you expected and the variation and the numerous elements of the book are a good touch. ❤

 

 

 

One thought on “Review | Jacob the Jew vs. the Chinese blood by J.W.Durrah

  1. i like the hefty feel of a big book. I anticipate immersing myself in another person’s world and putting off the evil day I have to return to my own. 🙃 But having invested all that time I would prefer it to be a stand alone story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

