Blog Tour | Book Review | Better in the Morning by Fern Ronay

Picture

Click on the banner to see the complete tour schedule. 😀

Welcome to my stop of the blog tour for the book “Better in the Morning” by Fern Ronay , hosted by Sage’s Blog Tours.

Let’s get on with the review, shall we?:)


Picture

 

Title: Better in the Morning
Author: Fern Ronay
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing

Publishing date: 26th April, 2016
Pages: 280

My Rating: 4/5 stars

 


Summary:

Veronica Buccino has a plan: marry John DelMonico and quit her soul-sucking job as a lawyer.And when he tells her he has big news, she’s certain he’ll pop the question. But instead of
proposing, John informs her that he’s moving to London.

Heartbroken, Veronica feels lost. Salvatore and Antoinette, her dead grandparents, begin to visit her dreams in an attempt to steer her in the right direction. At their suggestion, Veronica takes a news reporting class, which leads to a challenging freelance assignment covering a conspiracy trial. She also begins dating an unlikely suitor: creative Syd Blackman.

Just when her love life and career are looking up, Veronica is tossed back to square one by an event that makes her question all her new choices.


My Take:

I had mixed feelings in the middle of the book but other than that this was a very enjoyable book for me. 😉

When I started this book, I couldn’t keep this drama-packed story down. As the book reached the middle I started doubting the potential of the book because of the story going nowhere and giving no exact hints to what the book was exactly about. It kind of felt that the story was dragging with no exact goals. Veronica kept on messing up things back to back. I actually put it down, read another book and picked this back up. Good decision, I must say. 😀

She was kind of pathetic in the start.

Screenshot_2016-06-08-13-20-35-1

I like, how her character development takes place through and through. 🙂

I am glad that I took a break instead of reading it in one sitting. Because when I came back to this book it did not disappoint me at all. It was like meeting a friend after a long time and realizing that you missed them more than you thought.

The message this book puts across is about happiness, about finding your true calling, and about working for it. I love fictions with such positive messages. 😀 You know what would have been bold for this book, bold and unconventional, if Syd didn’t realize he couldn’t stay without Veronica and he loved her and she moved on with her life. I guess, women’s fiction needs to always have some or the other cliche. I am not complaining, no!

Screenshot_2016-06-18-04-14-39-1

By the time I reached the end of the book, I kind of felt that this was going to have that bomb unconventional ending that leaves the readers gaping because of how unfocused that part of her life was. It was a simple mention like, it’s been a month since she last talked to him. Nothing too filled with emotions to make me think that he was important at that point in the book. But we all need a happy ending, so the author gives you that. 😉

This book would’ve been something else if only Veronica spoke her mind. I swear, I would’ve loved her for saying the things she thought. 😀 Here are some examples-

Screenshot_2016-06-08-13-10-38-1
Screenshot_2016-06-08-13-10-38-2
Screenshot_2016-06-08-13-10-43-1

 

 

Screenshot_2016-06-18-09-56-58-1

Screenshot_2016-06-18-04-17-01-1

Now, this start of the explanation that Veronica’s grandpa gives her for them giving her signs without knowing the future kind of made me scratch my head. Like, you can’t see the future but six months ago you knew that Veronica would be here and she would need to see your sign. How exactly does that work?

Screenshot_2016-06-11-06-48-11-1

I loved this line…

Screenshot_2016-06-11-07-29-57-1

…and this was just ❤ A perfect way to sum up the plotline and the title accuracy. ❤

Screenshot_2016-06-20-07-37-59-1

All in all, this was a good book, that kept challenging how I felt about the book. It’s a good read on how a person develops and learns from their mistakes and wrong decisions and moves forward. No matter what, the future is always bright for those who learn to trust it’s ability to make everything alright. 😀 😉


Why would I pick it up?

For the drama and the lessons and ofcourse, for Hurricane Veronica! 😛 😛


Author’s Bio:

Fern Ronay was born and raised in Belleville, New Jersey. She is a lawyer and CPA as well as a writer, reporter, and blogger. After six years in Manhattan and six years in Chicago, she now lives in sunny Los Angeles with her husband.

Picture

In addition to writing novels, Fern authors the blog Stop and Blog the Roses and is a co-host on AfterBuzzTV. When she is not writing, reporting, or blogging, Fern can be found eating something, reading something, or running.

Meet the author: | Blog | Twitter | Facebook | 

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Book Review | Better in the Morning by Fern Ronay

Leave a Reply

