Blog Tour | Book Review | Cassia by Lanette Kauten

Picture

Click on the banner to see the complete tour schedule. 😀

Welcome to my stop of the blog tour for the book “Cassia” by Lanette Kauten  , hosted by Sage’s Blog Tours.

Let’s get on with the review, shall we? 🙂 


Picture

 

 

Title: Cassia
Author: Lanette Kauten
Genre: Literary Women’s Fiction
Publishing date: 26th March, 2016
Pages: 228

My Rating: 3.5/5 stars

 

 

 


Summary:

As a reporter living in Deep Ellum, all Tanya Falgoust wants is to be accepted as part of the underground arts district. But living among free thinkers and musicians doesn’t make her one of them. Then she meets the sensual, rebellious Cassia, a performance artist who struts onto the stage and into Tanya’s bed.

No one knows who Cassia is, but her beauty and talents as an actress and dancer captivate the local scene. Tanya is mesmerized, and they quickly form a relationship. A close friend warns Tanya about Cassia, but she brushes him off. But when Cassia refuses to divulge anything about herself, where she lives, or even her real name, Tanya starts to realize her friend was right. And the secrets her lover is hiding are deeper and more damaging than Tanya could imagine.

As the pull of their relationship deepens and becomes more volatile, Tanya must decide whether to break from her desire before she loses the one thing she wants most—connection to the musicians who have accepted her into their community.


My Take:

“Cassia” is one of the books that will make you keep the book aside and then reflect on what you just read. The intellectual discussion on art and it’s effect on humans and things in that tangent is something that most of the people will like reading.

Cassia as a character comes out really strong. Her confidence, her charm is not something you can ignore easily. I liked how she was mysterious about her past, dodged any questions that could reveal her past with philosophical counterbacks but yet was as transparent as they came. As a person she was open and outgoing.

Tanya on the other hand was kind of the typical natives who obviously couldn’t have resisted the charms of someone like Cassia.  Tanya lets her emotions rule her decisions while Cassia doesn’t care what people think. Cassia came across as someone who wanted to change the society but realized at a very young age that she couldn’t so she put on a mask to deal with whatever came her way.

Cassia will keep you entertained while Tanya’s friends Rodney, Nick, and Bonnie are the much needed variety in the mix.


Why would I pick it up?

For Cassia’s Personality and some of the mind simulating discussions.


Author’s Bio:

I grew up in the suburbs of Dallas, TX, and moved all the way over to the next county… Pictureso, not very far. In high school, I was a serious and determined student with the goal of becoming a psychologist. However, an artistic desire awakened inside me during my late teens, and I became enamored with artists of all strains, and Deep Ellum became a home for my soul.

After a couple of years, I realized I would have to grow up eventually (actually, my mom realized that for me), so I went to nursing school and once again became a serious and determined student. While in school, I became fascinated with research, and after a few years of working as a floor nurse, I went into nephrology research and loved it!

Because just about everything interests me, I eventually picked up my long-dead hobby of writing, which I’m happy to say is now a budding career. My debut novel, HOUSE OF THISTLES, came out two years ago. I’m very proud of my latest, which takes place in an industrial arts neighborhood.

I’m married with two kids and a step-son, and I home school my youngest.


Meet the author: | Website | Twitter | Facebook | 

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Book Review | Cassia by Lanette Kauten

Leave a Reply

