ARC Review | Scrapbook of the Dead by Mollie Cox Bryan

Scrapbook of the Dead

 

 

Title: Scrapbook of the Dead
Author: Mollie Cox Bryan
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers, Craft & Hobbies
Publishing date: 29th September, 2015
Published by: Kensington
Pages: 304

My Rating: 4/5 stars Β 

*ARC received from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*


Synopsis:

Halloween means spooky scrapbooks for the Cumberland Creek Scrapbook Crop, but what’s been happening around town is truly frightening. First a dead woman is found in the freezer at Pamela’s Pie Palace, and the next day a second woman is found murdered by the river. Reporter Annie Chamovitz learns the victims were sisters and is certain their deaths are linked. Most bizarre of all, both women were found clutching scrapbook pages.

As their Saturday night crop quickly becomes an opportunity to puzzle out the murders, the ladies begin to wonder if Pamela is hiding more than her secret recipes for delicious pies–or if the crimes are related to the startling discovery that there are gangs in Cumberland Creek. As All Hallows Eve approaches, the crafty croppers must cut and paste the clues to unmask a deadly killer.

Includes tips and a glossary of terms for the modern scrapbooker!


 

My Take:

Screenshot_2015-09-29-00-40-14-1

This quoted paragraph is from almost the end of the book but I would like to begin my review with it. πŸ˜€ Scrapbooker’s group sounds so amazing. This makes me feel sad because if I ever suggested anything like this to any of the people I know they would just laugh in my face. It will be seen as a useless task- waste of time and waste of money. They would rather facebook stalk their crushes and exes than do something creative. πŸ˜› I will make it a point to find people who would be interested in this. πŸ˜€ This book has piqued my interest! πŸ˜€

The small town life seems so good, interactive, and peaceful. I would love to move temporarily to a small town to see if it is as good as my books depict. (People go from small town to big city and I am deciding on the opposite, great! πŸ˜› )

There were a lot of characters to keep up with but they added to the story just fine. πŸ˜€ As I got into the book I had no problem remembering them although I had to mentally relate them to each other. πŸ˜› There was some interesting set of characters. They make me want to read the rest of the books in the Cumberland Creek series.

The mystery was spot-on. It kept you guessing till the very end. Perfect suspects with good motives yet you couldn’t pin down even one of them but I got odd vibes from the killer from the time that person was introduced in the book.

I loved the simplicity of the book. The writing style was simple and hooking. The story flew by and the mystery kept your mind working. The interesting thing is all the information this book has, at the end of the book, on Scrapbooking.

Screenshot_2015-09-29-00-40-05-1

How well said this is!

 

Screenshot_2015-09-29-00-39-56-1

Screenshot_2015-09-29-00-39-45-1

Now, don’t we all hate math, I surely do. πŸ˜›
But that’s a great way of seeing it. πŸ˜›

 

I totally recommend reading this fast paced mystery. πŸ˜€


Why would I pick it up?

A fast-paced mystery with a wide assortment of characters with a cool hobby group? Yes please! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “ARC Review | Scrapbook of the Dead by Mollie Cox Bryan

Leave a Reply

