Book Talk: Fifty Shades Trilogy: more to the book than BDSM !

To be honest, the hype about this book was getting too much for me. I don’t read erotica or Adult novels but I wanted to know what the hype was about. All people talked about, when referred to 50 shades, was sex. So, I didn’t have much expectations from this trilogy. Well, this trilogy didn’t actually disappoint me, though I skimmed all the sex part. (It was too much for me, similar scenes on repeat with just some differences.)

This trilogy isn’t all BDSM, yeah, it starts with it and talks about it for almost the whole first book but it isn’t put into practice to the level of buzz around this subject. Apart from this, the book actually has pretty much many more elements that pass it as romance but I am not sure.

It shows character growth of Christian beautifully. How he overcomes his fear of being touched, how he starts accepting his good side, how he realizes he is capable of love and how he learns to make peace with his past, leaving his past behind and living in the present.

Although I find Anastasia kind of irritating at times, what with her subconscious and inner godess, her subconscious is still bearable but her inner godess makes me roll my eyes; she still proved to be a good character. She didn’t develop much as a character unlike Christian but I liked how she was willing to try out things for the person she loved.

If people could just get over the amount of sex in this trilogy (It got boring at times andΒ irritated me to the core) this trilogy has much more to offer. We can’t judge a book only on one aspect. BDSM and sex has overpowered all the others things, the characters, plot line, writing and what not.

The cliffhangers weren’t exactly cliffhangers in the trilogy. Even if some pages were skipped, you wouldn’t miss a thing because everything is rubbed in your face numerous times. The only thing I would say to be intellectual was Christian and Anastasia’s email conversation. I liked all the characters at some point but Anastasia. Sigh!

The relationship of Christian and Anastasia, how they overcome all odds to stay together. The unconditional love of Grace and Carrick who adopt 3 children (Elliot, Christian and Mia) and raise them good, relationship of Anastasia with her stepdad Raymond Steele (Ray) whose surname she bears , Katherine’s love and care for Anastasia, Taylor and Gail’s loyalty for Christian; all these relationships show how love is thicker than blood. πŸ™‚

The climax of the 3rd book in the trilogy “Fifty shades freed” did it for the whole boring factor of the first two books. I felt emotions only after the climax of the last book, when Anastasia goes to save Mia (Christian’s sister). I guess after that scene the book grew on me, I felt the character’s emotions, felt sad when Anastasia was abused by Jack Hyde, felt helpless when she wasn’t able to gain consciousness and was listening to people talk and felt really happy reading the epilogue. (Although, I was sad too, I wanted to know what happened with Mia and Ethan).

In my opinion Fifty Shades Freed is the best book in the trilogy with less sex and more story, Fifty Shades Darker is the most slow paced among the 3 and Fifty Shades Of Grey is over-hyped.

Fifty Shades Of Grey-

Well, this book isn’t tied together the way I would’ve liked. The NDA, stalking, contracts, playroom were all hell irritating. In real life, people end up in jail for doing that. Anastasia is dumber than what I would’ve preferred for a literature student. Her use of words frustrated me. The number of times she said oh my… holy crap/mosses and what not. This book was the most frustrating book of the three and the writing was just loose.

I gave 2/5 stars for this.

Fifty Shades Darker-

The slow paced book. I wanted to get done with it but it just wasn’t ending. I can’t even remember much from this book even after being read just before 2 days. *Sighs* *Rolls eyes*
The repetitive trait in this book killed me.

I gave 2/5 stars because it really was just “OKAY”.

Fifty Shades Freed-

I won’t say much but this book is the only one that holds some promise for the trilogy. Anastasia is less irritating because the book has other issues to focus on and she grew up a bit after getting married. Christian’s character development is impressive by the end of the trilogy but Anastasia is still a pain.

I gave 3/5 stars for this book just because of the Jack Hyde debacle.

Yay! I finally completed the trilogy in 7 or 8 days. πŸ˜›

One thought on “Book Talk: Fifty Shades Trilogy: more to the book than BDSM !

  1. Cool review. I didn’t enjoy the books or the movie to be honest. Love your blog and i hope you could check out mine too and maybe follow back πŸ˜€ can’t wait to talk more bookish things with you πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

