Book Talk: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Title : Red Queen.
Author : Victoria Aveyard.
Published : February 10th, 2015
Publisher : HarperTeens.
Language : English.
Genre : Dystopia, YA, Fantasy.
Date read : June 20th, 2015

Synopsis:

The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of
those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

My Take: (Spoilers… duh) šŸ˜›

Red Queen was a over-hyped book, so I was prepared to be let down. I mean, come on, things that are hyped more than their worth are bound to depress but this book did justice to all the buzz around it.

What an amazing book! ā¤ ā¤

In the start when the protagonist Mare Barrow describes her living style and how much better Silvers were. I was like, girl in some days you are going to be there. This book is about you goddamn it, so, it was quite predictable. Our fiery protagonist bleeds red and also has a distinct superpower.

Then, we have Cal and Maven, the silver princes. The elites, the royals, the Gods who have supernatural powers and they bleed silver. They are further classified into different houses and they always wear the color of their houses.

Cal and Maven are totally swoon-worthy. ā¤ ā¤ ā¤

Ā 

I already had a clue that he was going to betray Mare because he was too good to be true and his reason for joining the Scarlet Guard did not buy me. Though the writing was good and there were plot twists strategically placed, it had nothing that I couldn’t have guessed. For instance, When Mare ran into Cal and he gave her money, then and there I knew he was the hero. When Mare was taken from her home for the job, I knew Cal had something to do with her being taken away like this. When she was given the job, I was sure Cal did it. When the queenstrail was in full swing, everyone could guess that now she was going to realize her powers, atleast I guessed it. Ā I guessed she was going to use Lucas and use, she did. Maven was going to betray her and betray, he did. When Julian’s character was introduced, I knew there was more to him and he was going to be an important aspect of the cause. When the news came of Shade being dead, I knew he wasn’t and was going to make an appearance at some point in the book. The hype about him in the book and his connection to Scarlet Guard made it clear.

Well, what can I say! I just don’t read, I analyze the situations. šŸ˜›

If I go on talking about all the hints then I will be writing the complete novel here, the rest I leave on you to discover. šŸ˜› šŸ˜›

The books this book is compared to, I can’t say how much it co-relates them because I haven’t read those books but whatever, this was an addicting and gripping story and I completed it in one sitting. Though it was quite predictable for me, the writing and the character growth of Mare, Maven’s betrayal and Cal as a person did it for me. ā¤ ā¤

I can’t wait for the next book to release. We will be getting it in 2016. Quite a long wait, isn’t it? :/ I hope it’s worth the wait, I really hope for it to be. šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

One thought on “Book Talk: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

Leave a Reply

