Rain… my nostalgia !!

It has been raining for 3 days now. Having vacations while it is raining seems like a total waste to me. I love going to college in rain. Walking in the water, dodging the puddles, jumping out of the way of vehicles spraying water and yeah, cursing the mud are the things I look forward too. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

As this year, my college will be starting late, I dread missing all this. 😦 If I miss it this year, I am going to be damn pissed the whole year. It’s one of the things I have become accustomed to, an irresistible love for the rain. ❀

Whenever it rains I become nostalgic, I’ve no idea, why?

A slide show of memory starts, me as a child sitting and staring out of the window, thinking about the future or the weirdest one being the first day of my new school, that was my 5th grade, I still have no clue why do I remember it while it is raining, It wasn’t like it was raining that day but still I do.

I remember the first day of my diploma college, how nervous I was, how much excited for the new journey I was going to take. I remember the time my best friend took me to a lake and I ate corn while it rained, we took a walk and made fun of the couples then had ice-cream sundae which was named ‘choco-smooch’ to our utter astonishment. The ice-cream place had the perfect view to the lake. The sitting area had bamboo chairs and tables and gave view to the complete lake and the mountains behind and then it rained. Oh. My. God. That scene! ❀ ❀ ❀ Β I could have died of excitement on seeing such a beautiful sight.

I always wanted to experience a scenery like that in person, till that time it was only movies that privileged me with the sights. Doesn’t matter I was eating a weird named ice-cream sundae (delicious, I must admit πŸ˜› πŸ˜‰ ). That was also the first time I and my best friend clicked pictures. In the 3 years time we have known each other that is the only time we clicked pictures together.

Then I remember the time I and my 2 friends bunked college and went to the same lake, triple seat, enjoying the ride in the rain and singing songs aloud all the way and although completely drenched, had two ice-cream sundaes.

I remember the first time I visited a waterfall. We had to kind of trek to reach the place. And, man, it was worth it. To be honest, the view of the waterfall while you tried to mind your footing was breathtakingly beautiful. ❀ ❀  

I remember staring out of the windows in between the lectures and immensely being filled with a serene feeling. Watching the raindrops swaying with the wind always gave me goosebumps(Okay, okay, the chilly wind caused the goosebumps but it felt good. πŸ˜€ )

I remember dad staying home and all 4 of us playing carrom, uno and many such games and having tea while laughing our guts out and fighting over the games. Β Β 

Not only do I get flashbacks, I also think about the future. Everything but the present matters, rain has the power to make me time travel, leaving the shell of me in this world while my soul wanders to places I have always wanted to visit.

985a20e364129654ee30887f2b3e1463

Lying cuddled up in the bed, lights off, windows open and listening to the rain while reading a good book (under reading lamp, of course) and feeling the breeze has the power to make you believe like everything is perfect although you most probably might be going through a shitty situation but for the time being you are at peace. That feeling! ❀

Many people despise rain because of how wet everything becomes and ah… the mud! But for me it89u9LBis a feeling that I can’t express. I am always too optimistic, too happy and too ebullient. No issue has the power to fill me with any of the negative feelings against the positivity rain fills me in. πŸ™‚

 

 

The reason I feel nostalgic in rain is because all the experiences I want to have are in some way or the other related to the rain. If I think about the memories I see a flashback of, then they are all my first time experiences of things. I feel the nervousness, the happiness of those memories and relive those moments.

1

So, while it is still raining and I don’t get to go to college, I will utilize the time to read. I have read many books this month and will keep continuing till I get a reason to step out of the house. πŸ˜› πŸ˜› πŸ˜›

download

4 thoughts on “Rain… my nostalgia !!

Leave a Reply

